Search on

Dance & Reflexion



It’s a shame that one of the better bands in the world have gone their separate ways since this live recording from late 2005. The band will continue with new membership, but Danse & Reflexion closes the chapter on their incredibly powerful Afro/rock/jazz/Balkan/dub maelstrom. Where so many cross cultural experiments are undertaken with a sense of balance to all the elements, Mei Tei Sho contained the trump card of Jean Gomis’ charismatic, raging vocals. Almost none of the songs here are a straightforward 4/4 beat, and the very active dub mix from the soundboard further amplifies the polyrhythms. Gomis inhabits the group’s forceful political and cultural stances, singing, screaming and rapping in English, French and Wolof. The jazz is brought by drummer Germain Samba and soprano sax player Eric Prost, who comes close to over-sweetening the mix with an instrument that has been an emblem of smooth jazz in recent decades, but instead provides much welcomed melodic invention. This disc gets better as it goes along — it rocks harder, the dub effects are more involved and the crowd is even more receptive, transforming most of the tracks from their previous album Lo Ba into stirring anthems. The final track, the 13-minute workout "Ghetto Youth” is a tour de force that gradually dissolves into a sax and guitar loop duel. I hope all members of this band go from strength to strength with their next projects.

Audio CD : Live au transbordeur (78')
Tracklist :
01.Bagdad is Burning. 02. Chora di Alma. 03.Eye Witness feat. N'Zeng (PH). 04.Xam Sa Bop 05 Never Money Today 06 Love Child 07 Algeria 08 Stand Up and Fight Again 09 Ghost Friend 10 Joe Kool (Get Ready) 11 Ghetto Youth

1/ Live au Transbordeur (85')
Tracklist : 01.Bagdad is Burning. 02. Chora di Alma. 03.Eye Witness. 04.Xam Sa Bop 05. Never Money Today 06. Lambi Golo featuring N'Zeng. 07. We Anak featuring Raza Mike. 08. Love Child 09. Algeria 10. Stand Up and Fight Again 11. Ghost Friend 12. Joe Kool (Get Ready) 13. Ghetto Youth

2/ Sandaleya : musical encounter Mei Tei Sho/Ganoub (Egypt). - Documentary (2002, 52')

3/ Documentaries Mei Tei Sho (2001, 15').

4/ Lyon Calling Tour 2005 : European tour of Mei Tei Sho, High Tone and Le Peuple de l'Herbe (23 concerts/17 countries)

5/ Gallery : 8 photographers + 1 graphic artist

6/ Bonus - video-clip for Lambi Golo.

Released on ...

15.00€ Add to cart
01 Bagdad is burning07' 07"
02 Chora di alma07' 33"
03 Eye witness03' 35"
04 Xam Sa Bop04' 06"
05 Never money - part 103' 32"
06 Never money - part 202' 32"
07 Love child10' 23"
08 Algeria06' 07"
09 Fight again04' 34"
10 Ghost friend05' 57"
11 Joe kool (get ready)06' 09"
12 Ghetto youth13' 21"
Tracklist legend:
  • Video
  • Complete
  • Extract

From the same artist

Customers who bought this item also bought